Point-to-Point Flat races up in number

  • Posted: Tuesday, 4th September 2018
  • Author: Carl Evans

Britain’s series of two-mile point-to-point Flat races, sponsored by JRL Group Ltd, are increasing in number for the 2018/2019 season.

Ten such races, restricted to four-, five- and six-year-olds, are programmed, from Alnwick in Northumberland to Great Trethew in Cornwall, including a successful bid from West Wales as Ffos Las is seeking to support point-to-pointing by hosting a fixture.

When a single point-to-point Flat race was introduced in 2016/17 the number of declared runners required three divisions. Last season six races – all sponsored for the first time by construction company JRL Group Ltd – took place, and five required a division due to the number of declared horses. The one exception attracted 11 runners.

Two such races are scheduled soon after the British season opens on November 18. The first at Ffos Las on December 9, followed a week later by one at Wiltshire's Barbury Racecourse, which staged the inaugural event two years ago. The same venue will host one of the additional races (February 10), while two further entrants to the Flat race list will take place in the North West area at Bangor-on-Dee (March 10), and in the Wessex area at Milborne St Andrew (March 23).

Clare Hazell, chief executive of the Point-to-Point Authority, said: "The JRL Group Ltd Point-to-Point Flat Races were introduced to encourage owners to run young horses in our sport, to give such horses racing experience, and to provide another showcase for the calibre of talent within British point-to-pointing.

"Owners and trainers have clearly supported the concept, and the races have been well received by competitors and spectators alike. We are very grateful to JRL Group Ltd for once again supporting, and increasing their backing for, this type of race."

Name Course Area Fixture Date
Carmarthenshire Ffos Las WW 09/12/2018
Barbury International Racing Club Barbury Racecourse SM 16/12/2018
Vine & Craven Barbury Racecourse SAND 10/02/2019
East Cornwall Great Trethew D&C 24/02/2019
Flint & Denbigh Bangor-on-Dee NW 10/03/2019
College Valley & North Northumberland Alnwick N 10/03/2019
Wilton Milborne St Andrew W 23/03/2019
North Ledbury Hereford Racecourse WBC 07/04/2019
Ludlow Bitterley WBC 13/04/2019
Quorn Garthorpe MID 28/04/2019