The Jockey Club

The Jockey Club Mares' Maiden Series

The PPA is excited to announce a revamped The Jockey Club Mares’ Maiden Series this season, which for the first time includes a Series Final.

There will be a series of 16 qualifying races, and the first four finishers will qualify for the final at the Berkeley fixture (held at Woodford) on Saturday, April 23. In addition, the winner (filly or mare) of any other maiden point-to-point race prior to the final will be eligible.

The series races will be held at the following fixtures:

Area Meeting Course Date
WW Carmarthenshire Ffos Las 21 November 2021
SM Barbury International Barbury 12 December 2021
D&C Tiverton Foxhounds Chipley Park 23 January 2022
D&C South Pool Harriers Buckfastleigh 13 February 2022
MID Brocklesby Hunt Brocklesby Park 05 March 2022
W Quantock Cothelstone 12 March 2022
SW Llanfrynach Races Llanfrynach 13 March 2022
N Duke of Buccleuch's Friars Haugh 20 March 2022
D&C Lamerton Kilworthy 20 March 2022
WBC United Pack Brampton Bryan 20 March 2022
D&C Four Burrow Trebudannon 27 March 2022
SM Bicester with Whaddon Chase Edgcote 03 April 2022
SAND Tedworth Hunt Barbury 10 April 2022
MID Pytchley with Woodland Dingley 16 April 2022
WW Cresselly Lydstep 18 April 2022
NW North Shropshire Eyton-on-Severn 18 April 2022
WM Berkeley (SERIES FINAL) Woodford 23 April 2022
(Non series races)
D&C Stevenstone Foxhounds Vauterhill 02 May 2022
WBC Golden Valley Bredwardine 21 May 2022
WM Albrighton & Woodland (South) Chaddesley Corbett 02 June 2022

The Jockey Club Bonus

The Jockey Club has kindly agreed to the continuation of their bonus scheme associated with the Mares’ Maiden Series, with some important changes. The first three finishers in The Jockey Club Mares’ Maiden Series Final at Woodford in May 2022 will be eligible for a prize money bonus at any of The Jockey Club’s racecourses*, as follows:

- A maximum of £10,000 bonus payment to owners to mirror the total prize money won by the connections of the Mares’ Maiden Series winner on her first, second or third run at any of The Jockey Club’s racecourses.

- A maximum of £5,000 bonus payment(s) to owners to mirror the total prize money won by the connections of each of the horses that finish second and third in the Mares Maiden Series Final on their first, second or third run at any of The Jockey Club’s racecourses.

- The double prize money bonus will be paid on all prize money, not just for a win.

- Further distribution of the bonus payment is at owner’s discretion (i.e. Trainer/Jockey share)

- To activate the bonus, the connections of the respective mare(s) should contact Richard Norris via 020 7611 1800 before competing at a Jockey Club Racecourse track.

    *Governed by Royal Charter, The Jockey Club is the largest commercial group in British horseracing, reinvesting every penny of its profit back into the sport. It runs 15 racecourses nationwide: Aintree, Carlisle, Cheltenham, Epsom Downs, Exeter, Haydock Park, Huntingdon, Kempton Park, Market Rasen, Newmarket (Rowley Mile and July Course), Nottingham, Sandown Park, Warwick and Wincanton.

    For further information on The Jockey Club, please click here: