Retraining of Racehorses

The Jockey Club & Retraining of Racehorses (RoR) Veteran Horse Series

The PPA is delighted to announce the third season of the Veteran Horse Series, again jointly sponsored by The Jockey Club and Retraining of Racehorses (RoR). There will be a series of 14 races in which the first four finishers qualify for the series final at the Melton Hunt Club on Sunday, May 22.

In addition, the winner of any other Veteran Point-to-Point Conditions race (must comply with the description of a Veteran Horse as described in the Point-to-Point Regulations, that is 9 Years and over in races up to 31st December 2021, and 10 Years and over from 1st January 2022 until the end of the season) will be eligible for the Final.

The qualifying races will be held at the following fixtures:

Area Meeting Course Date
W Hursley Hambledon Larkhill 28 November 2021
SM Barbury International Barbury 12 December 2021
EA Dunston Harriers Ampton 09 January 2022
D&C Modbury Harriers Buckfastleigh 16 January 2022
N Jedforest Friars Haugh 23 January 2022
Y Sinnington Duncombe Park 06 February 2022
MID Cottesmore Garthorpe 27 February 2022
EA High Easter Racing Club High Easter 12 March 2022
W Wilton Milborne St Andrew 19 March 2022
SE Crawley and Horsham Parham 26 March 2022
N Morpeth Tranwell 02 April 2022
SW Glamorgan Bonvilston 16 April 2022
SM Warwickshire Mollington 02 May 2022
WM Wheatland Chaddesley Corbett 07 May 2022
MID Melton Hunt Club (Final) Garthorpe 22 May 2022

The conditions of the above races will be:

Since 1st October 2020, No wins under Rules except Hunter Chases. Penalties: Since 1st October 2020; 5lbs for each win in a Hunter Chase, Mens, Ladies or Mixed Open and since 1st October 2021; 3lbs for each win in a Conditions Race.

Please note that the veteran horse series final will be exempt from the regulation stating that a horse can only have won three Conditions races in the current season.

For further information on Retraining of Racehorses (RoR), please click here:

For further information on The Jockey Club, please click here: